The 2016 Elections for Officers and Governors of the Society concluded on Monday, 26 September.  Thanks to all the SMPTE Members who participated as candidates and voters, helping to shape the leadership of our Society.

The election results are below.  All positions carry two-year terms, beginning 1 January 2017 and ending 31 December 2018.

Read the Full Press Release


Thank You to Broadcast Beat for Producing the Candidate Election Interviews!




President for Two-Year Term, 2017-2018

Matthew Goldman
Senior Vice President Technology, TV & Media

Executive Vice-President for Two-Year Term, 2017-2018

Patrick Griffis
Vice President Technology
Dolby Laboratories

Education Vice-President for Two-Year Term, 2017-2018

Richard Welsh
Sundog Media Toolkit

Secretary/Treasurer for Two-Year Term, 2017-2018

Peter Wharton
VP, Technology & Business Development
BroadStream Solutions Inc.


Asia-Pacific Region Governor

Masayuki Sugawara
Executive Engineer
NEC Corporation


Canadian Region Governor

François Vaillant
Executive Director of Engineering and Infrastructure
CBC / Radio-Canada


Central Region Governor

Brian Claypool
VP Strategic Business Development


Eastern Region Governor

George Hoover
NEP Group

Europe/Africa/Middle East/Central and South America Region Governor

François Abbe
President & Founder


Hollywood Region Governors

Christopher Merrill Fetner
Director of Media Engineering & Partnerships


Andrew G. Setos
BlackStar Engineering Inc.

New York Region Governor

Douglas I. Sheer
CEO & Chief Analyst
DIS Consulting Corporation


Southern Region Governor

Michael Koetter
Vice President, Digital Media Systems

Western Region Governor

Gary Mandle
Sr. Product Manager
Sony North America




SMPTE Election Raffle!

All members* who cast their vote were entered into a raffle and below are our winners! Congratulations and thanks for your participation!

  • 1 Grand Prize - Complimentary registration for the 2016 Annual Technical Conference OR One complimentary year of membership dues
    • David Sahuc, EMEA, Central & South America Region
  • 1 Second Prize - One complimentary ticket to the Centennial Gala, 28 October 2016
    • Ruben Calzadilla, Eastern Region
  • 3 Third Prizes - $50 gift certificate to the SMPTE Store
    • Stephen Mican, Western Region
    • Timothy Onders, Western Region
    • Jonathan Solomon, New York Region
  • 5 Runner Up Prizes - $25 gift certificate to the SMPTE Store
    • Peter Wilson, United Kingdom Region
    • Glenn Reitmeier, New York Region
    • Ian Jeavons-Fellows, Asia-Pacific Region
    • Anthony W. LoRusso, Eastern Region
    • Ed Fraticelli, Eastern Region

*Election Candidates and Current SMPTE Officers not eligible