Monthly Educational Webcast

Center-Of-Interest (COI) Motion Analysis and Prediction: Do Movies Benefit More from 4K, HFR, or Both?

Thursday, 2 February 2017

1:00 PM EST /10:00 AM PST / 18:00 UTC/GMT

As the industry relentlessly moves towards higher spatial and temporal resolutions, it's important to take a step back and examine how those technologies fare with the creative side of filmmaking. Find out the surprising results of applying a certain methodology on several recent box-office hits (exhibited at 2K24).

During this webcast, you will learn about the specific impact increasing frame rate has on image detail. You will also hear Pierre Hugues Routhier’s thoughts about how image performance is affected by today’s fast-paced cinematography. Finally, discover how you might improve viewer experience and reduce costs without compromising creative intent. 

Please join Pierre Hugues Routhier and SMPTE for this excellent learning opportunity!

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Register Now!

SMPTE now offers webcasts each month, FREE of charge to current SMPTE members.
If you are not already a SMPTE member, join today!

Guest Speaker

Pierre Hugues Routhier, Eng., M.Eng.
Creat3 Inc.
Former Aerospace Engineer Pierre Hugues Routhier, Eng., M.Eng., is a specialist in advanced imaging technologies. He has developed innovative solutions and workflows for studios and post-production facilities in all fields of advanced imaging: Virtual Reality, Ultra-High Resolution, High Dynamic Range, High Frame Rate, Stereoscopic 3D, etc... He is credited with more than a dozen patents related to advanced imaging and is published in several industry papers. He is currently working with major studios and broadcasters on production, research and training related to advanced imaging.