Honorary Membership is the Society’s highest accolade. It recognizes individuals who have performed distinguished service in the advancement of engineering in motion pictures, television, or in the allied arts and sciences.

Honorary Members who have passed away are named to the SMPTE Honor Roll, which also posthumously recognizes individuals who were not awarded Honorary Membership during their lifetimes but whose contributions would have been sufficient to warrant such an honor.

2017 Inductee: Renville “Ren” H. McMann Jr. (1927 – 2015)


SMPTE inducted Renville “Ren” H. McMann Jr. (1927 – 2015) into the Honor Roll in recognition of his award-winning leadership in the development of television and imaging technology. McMann held more than 36 patents for inventions that include the electronic video recorder, the electronic image enhancer, the color camera system, and the magnetic scan conversion techniques used by NASA to bring color television images from the moon to viewers around the world. He was the principal inventor for and a major participant in projects such as the development of the CBS Minicam Mark VI, the first handheld color TV camera. A tireless and curious engineer, McMann made many contributions to the advancement of color television signal processing and image gathering technology. Along with those contributions, his pioneering work in the field of high-definition television systems has garnered worldwide recognition.

SMPTE Honorary Members

John L.E. Baldwin (2000)

Stanley N. Baron (2010)

James Cameron (2016)

Leonardo Chiariglione (2014)

Ian Childs (2010)

Joseph A. Flaherty (1993)

George Lucas (2014)

Masahiko Morizono (1994)

Frederick M. Remley, Jr. (1991)

Michael J. Sherlock (1997)

Robert M. Smith (1996)

William H. Smith (1998)

Laurence J. Thorpe (2015)

Roland J. Zavada (1995)

Irwin W. Young (2015)

The Honor Roll

Victor H. Allen (1975)

Charles E. Anderson (2012)

Thomas Armat (1935)

John Logie Baird (2014)

Joseph Arthur Ball (1953)

Julius Barnathan (1997)

K. Blair Benson (1991)

Walter Bruch (1989)

Marvin C. Camras (1990)

John C. Capstaff (1955)

Theodore W. Case (1946)

George W. Colburn (1987)

Jeofry Stuart Courtney-Pratt (1974)

John I. Crabtree (1965)

Edward B. Craft (1946)

Andre Debrie (1955)

Lee de Forest (1940)

LeRoy E. DeMarsh (1999)

Herman A. DeVry (1941)

W. K. L. Dickson (1933)    

Walt Disney (1955)

Ray M. Dolby (1992)

Linwood G. Dunn (1984)

George Eastman (1928)

Harold E. Edgerton (1968)

Thomas Alva Edison (1928)

Elmer W. Engstron (1966)

Alexander Ernemann (1956)

Ralph M. Evans (1973)

Philo Taylor Farnsworth (1996)

Harvey Fletcher (1959)

Charles R. Fordyce (1984)

John G. Frayne (1967)

William Friese-Greene (1931)

Leon Gaumont (1946)

Charles P. Ginsberg (1976)

Peter C. Goldmark (1977)

Alfred N. Goldsmith (1961)

Oscar B. Hanson (2015)

Wesley T. Hanson, Jr. (1979)    

Albert S. Howell (1941) 

Frederick Eugene Ives (1928)

C. Francis Jenkins (1926)

Herbert T. Kalmus (1958)

Edward W. Kellogg (1950)

Stefan Kudelski (1988)

Eugene Augustin Lauste (1931)

Louis A. A. Le Prince (1931)

Jean Acme LeRoy (1931)

Nathan Levinson (1953)

Louis Lumiere (1928)

Kenneth M. Mason (1981)

John A. Maurer (1978)

Renville “Ren” H. McMann Jr.​ (2017)

C.E. Kenneth Mees (1957)

Pierre Mertz (1971)

Oskar Messter (1960)

George A. Mitchell (1971)

Albert Narath (1969)

Robert W. Paul (1937)

Edwin S. Porter (1941)

Kerns H. Powers (1995)

Frank H. Richardson (1944)

Robert Richter (1972)

Rodger J. Ross (1989)

Loren L. Ryder (1980)

Max Skladanowsky (1970)

Sidney P. Solow (1981)

Earl I. Sponable (1957)

Kenjiro Takayanagi (1988)

Lloyd Thompson (1962)

Alexander F. Victor (1964)

Samuel L. Warner (1946)

William T. Wintringham (1977)

Vladimir K. Zworykin (1950)