Webcast
Tuesday, October 7, 2014 - 13:00 to 14:00

Laser Science and Laser Illuminated Projection

Thursday, 7 October 2014

17:00 UTC /10:00 AM Pacific/1:00 PM Eastern

After years of anticipation and many impressive demonstrations, commercial laser-illuminated projectors are being sold and installed in commercial movie theaters and premium large format (PLF) theaters. Systems with brightness levels ranging from 6000 cinema lumens to over 100,000 lumens per screen (dual-projector) have been installed. This webcast steps through key terms and definitions; current commercial offerings; major system architectures; the impact of primary selection; RGB laser vs. Blue laser-Pumped Phosphor (BPP) and a tutorial on key "figures of merit" (FoM) for evaluating laser-illuminated projectors, such as brightness; brightness roll-off; lifetime; wall-plug efficiency; speckle contrast ratio; dynamic range; contrast ratio; color gamut; impact on 3D; 6 Primary 3D systems and other laser-related topics will be discussed. Q&A during and after the talk will be an integral part of the session.
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Guest Speaker: Bill Beck "The Laser Guy," Barco