SMPTE Announces Results of the 2008 Section Elections

The Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers announced today the results of the 2008 Section Elections. The newly elected Officers and Managers listed below will begin their terms on July 1, 2008.

Chair: T.J. Scott, Grass Valley Inc.

Secretary/Treasurer: Zandra Clarke, Turner Entertainment Networks

Mark G. Fehlig, Georgia Public Broadcasting
Donald "Quincy" Johnson, Turner Broadcasting System, Inc
Kenneth N. Miller, Comprehensive Technical Group


Chair: Ward C. Hansford, Tandberg Television

Secretary/Treasurer: Michael Day, Premier Media Group

Peter Stavrianos, SBS Corporation
John Nachef, Cisco Systems
Mark Woodley, Australian Broadcasting Corporation


Chair: Charles W. Reti, Ford Motor Company / TAC Automotive

Secretary/Treasurer: Robert A. Zeichner, Roscor

David S. Wertheimer, The Art Institute of Michigan
Frank J. Maynard, WKBD-TV/WWJ-TV
W. Wallace Murray, AT&T


Chair: Paul R. Chapman, FotoKem

Secretary/Treasurer: Allan J. Schollnick, THX Ltd.

Eric Gsell, Dolby Laboratories
Henry Gu, Silk Software Corp.
Bruce Berke, Eastman Kodak Co.

Hong Kong

Chair: Tony Ngai(Tin Ming), SalonFilms (HK) Ltd.

Secretary/Treasurer: Oonagh Ching Man Chan, The Hong Kong Jockey Club

Fung, Tze-Cheong, Digital Magic Ltd.
Leung Wai Boon, Television Broadcasts Ltd.
Wong Wing Fu, Tony, Sony Corporation of Hong Kong Ltd.


Chair: Franco Visintin, Consultant

Secretary/Treasurer: Federico Savina, Consultant

Manlio Cruciatti, R. T. I. Spa
Alberto Simonetti, Ianiro
Giampaolo Giusti, Technicolor, SpA


Chair: Daniel GuÈvin, CBC/Radio-Canada

Secretary/Treasurer: Richard Bourbonniěre, Sony of Canada

Managers for a 2-year term (July 2008 - June 2010)
RenÈ Villeneuve, Le Groupe NumÈrique Inc.
Daniel Despa, Communications DIDCOM Inc
Gilles Morency, Leitch

Managers for a 1-year term (July 2008 - June 2009)
Denis Beauchamp, CBC/Radio-Canada
Jean-Claude Krelic, Miranda
Ann-Marie Kuziomko, Sono VidÈo inc.


Chair: William Michael (Mike) Quinn, DNF Controls, Inc.

Secretary/Treasurer: Michael S. Arnold, NorthStar Studios

Jon Edward Waltz, NVision, Inc.
John M. Nichols, Great American Country
Sean Miller, Watkins Film School

New York

Chair: Douglas I. Sheer, DIS Consulting Corp.

Secretary/Treasurer: Herb Ohlandt, Rock Consulting

Eileen M. Pedersen, CBS
Tim Dwight, Creative Bubble
Bruce Follmer, ABC Television Network


Chair: Kenneth A. Herr, Air Products

Secretary/Treasurer: Dave Muckel, Comcast Spotlight

William J. Weber, WHYY, Inc.
Jim Lien, Christie Digital Systems
Richard E. Kaelberer, PA Public Television Network


Chair: Patrick Loughney, George Eastman House Museum

Secretary/Treasurer: Barry Chow, Genesee Community College

David Lynn Long, Rochester Institute of Technology
Edward E. Stratmann, George Eastman House
Ricardo R. Figueroa, Eastman Kodak

Rocky Mountain

Chair: James Schoedler, JB Schoedler Associates

Secretary/Treasurer: John Switzer, Sony Electronics Inc.

Brian Chavez, Omneon
David Diels, Pathfire
Brad Torr, Harris Corporation


Chair: Robert Hudelson, NVISION, Inc.

Secretary/Treasurer: Mark Narveson, Thomson Grass Valley

Robert Sherman, NVISION, Inc.
Mona Smothers, Ewing-Foley, Inc.
Tim Stoffel, KNPB-TV

San Francisco

Chair: Peter Hammar, Hammar Communications

Secretary/Treasurer: C. Jason Mancebo, Network Appliance

John Goodell, Goodell & Associates
Stephen H. Lampen, Belden Wire & Cable
Bill Reckwerdt, Video Clarity


Chair: Reid Robertson, Panasonic Canada, Inc.

Secretary/Treasurer: Mike Prest, Consultant

Marlene Graham, Harris Corp Leitch Bus Unit
Leigh Whitcomb, Harris Corp Leitch Bus Unit
Andrew Thomas, Rogers Sportsnet

Washington DC

Chair: Karl J. Kuhn, Tektronix, Inc.

Secretary/Treasurer: James Snyder, Communications Engineering Inc. (CEI)

Robert L. Natwick, Utah Scientific
James Edward O'Neal, TV Technology (NewBay Media)
Rudolph John Niznansky, Thomson

About the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers:
Founded in 1916 to advance theory and development in the motion imaging field, the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) is the leading technical society for the motion imaging industry. SMPTE has earned a strong reputation for its work in developing industry standards, recommended practices and engineering guidelines. SMPTE also publishes the award-winning SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal. SMPTE worldwide members include engineers and other technical professionals, directors and educators working in the technical and creative provisioning of motion pictures, television and new media. SMPTE also hosts more than 200 sustaining (corporate) members. Visit SMPTE online at