SMPTE Fellow Andy Setos To Receive Lifetime Achievement Award From Academy of Television Arts & Sciences


63rd Primetime Emmy® Engineering Awards Held In Conjunction SMPTE 2011 Annual Technical Conference & Expo

Hollywood - 24 October 2011 – Kicking off its 2011 Annual Technical Conference & Exposition in Hollywood today, the Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers (SMPTE), the worldwide leader in motion-imaging standards and education for the communications, media, and entertainment industries, announced that the SMPTE Fellow and broadcast industry pioneer Andy Setos will receive the Charles F. Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award from the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. The awards ceremony is taking place in conjunction with the SMPTE conference at the Hollywood Renaissance Hotel & Conference Center.

“SMPTE is delighted that the Television Academy has co-located its awards ceremony with the Society’s Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition,” said SMPTE Executive Director Barbara Lange. “Honoring Andy Setos, a longtime SMPTE member and current Society Fellow, makes it that much more significant.”

The Charles F. Jenkins Award, named for SMPTE’s founder, will be presented to Setos at the 63rd Primetime Emmy® Engineering Awards to be held on 26 October. In bestowing it, the Television Academy cited Setos’ pioneering efforts and thought leadership in advancing broadcast and video delivery across many distribution channels.

“Andy Setos not only led some of the industry’s important technical efforts but contributed significantly to standards that ensure equipment and infrastructural interoperability and go-forward integration paths for new devices and technologies,” said SMPTE president Pete Ludé. “SMPTE congratulates him on this well-deserved honor.”

The SMPTE Technical Conference & Exposition continues through 27 October with presentations from the world’s leading motion-imaging scientists, engineers, academic and corporate researchers, and business decision-makers – and with addresses by the leader of the Motion Picture Association of America, Senator Chris Dodd, and the visual effects pioneer Scott Ross.

Follow SMPTE on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and LinkedIn.

Learn more at