SMPTE To Honor Key Film & Broadcast Technology Contributors

Hollywood, Oct. 28, 2010 - From a director who help pioneer a new style of filmmaking to a technologist whose work laid the foundation for high-definition television, the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE), the world's leading developer of motion-imaging standards, will celebrate more than 30 motion-imaging and audio luminaries at a private banquet in Hollywood this evening. The SMPTE Honors & Awards banquet is the capstone to the Society's 2010 Technical Conference and Expo held here this week.

"The reason people enjoy their favorite programming on everything from a digital cinema screen to a smart phone is because of these honorees and other SMPTE members who created innovative and advanced technologies, comprehensive standards, and even entirely new forms of entertainment," said Barbara Lange, Executive Director of SMPTE. "It is a great pleasure for SMPTE to honor their accomplishments."

During the evening award event, Lange, SMPTE President Ken Fuller and Executive Vice President Pete LudÈ will be joined by Master of Ceremonies Steve Hytner, one of America's most recognized character actors and star of the HBO hit series, "Hung," in recognizing the award winners and new SMPTE Fellows.
2010 Award Recipients and Fellows

This year's awards include:

Honorary Membership, SMPTE's highest accolade and whose past honorees include Walt Disney, Ray Dolby, George Eastman and Thomas Alva Edison, and will be awarded Dr. Ian Childs, for a lifetime of technical leadership and pioneering research, from recording digital television signals in holographic form on black-and-white film, to investigating digital radio and TV broadcasting systems, to understanding image processing and the study of HDTV; and to Stanley N. Baron, whose contributions in the development, advancement, and implementation of digital imaging technologies included the proposal for a digital sampling structure and equipment interface that formed the basis of component 4:2:2 digital television, the foundation for HDTV.

2010 SMPTE Progress Medal recognizes outstanding technical contributions, will be awarded to Takuo Miyagishima in recognition of more than 50 years of innovation in motion picture optical systems.

Herbert T. Kalmus Gold Medal, sponsored by Technicolor, recognizes outstanding contributions in the development of color films, processing, techniques, or equipment, will be awarded to Vince Roth.

John Grierson International Gold Medal Award, sponsored by the National Film Board of Canada, recognizes significant technical achievements in documentary film, will be awarded to D.A. Pennebaker a pioneer of cinÈma vÈritÈ filmmaking whose credits span "Don't Look Back," which followed Bob Dylan's last acoustic concert tour in England to "The War Room," produced with Chris Hegedus, which documented the first presidential campaign of Bill Clinton.

Samuel L. Warner Memorial Medal Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the area of design and development for motion picture sound, will be awarded to Noboru Nishio, for more than 50 years of deep involvement in film recording technologies.

David Sarnoff Medal recognizes outstanding new techniques or equipment that have contributed to the improvement of the engineering phases of television technology, including large venue presentations, will be awarded to Kohji Mitani for more than 20 years of developing advanced camera systems.

Kodak Educational Award, established this year and sponsored by Eastman Kodak Company, recognizes advances in the motion-imaging educational process, will be awarded to Stephen Lighthill, ASC, whose documentary work in 1960s San Francisco has appeared in hundreds of social issue documentaries as well as in iconic films such as "Gimme Shelter," and who now serves as head of the cinematography department of the American Film Institute.

SMPTE Journal Award recognizes the most outstanding paper originally published in the SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal during preceding calendar year, will be awarded to Nigel Seth-Smith, Gareth M. Heywood, and Ryan Latchman for "11.88 Gbits/sec: Continuing the Evolution of Serial Digital Interface," published in the May/June 2009 issue.

SMPTE Journal Certificate of Merit Award recognizes meritorious articles in the SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal, will be awarded to Akira Nakagawa for "The 4:2:2/4:2:0 Perfect Reconstruction Filter Set and its Application in HD-SNG," published in the July/August 2009 issue; and Karl E. Paulsen, Michael E. Walter, Keith Ian Graham, and Randall Hoffner for "Considerations in Physical Infrastructures for 3 Gbit/sec Systems Design," published in the May/June 2009 issue.

Citation for Outstanding Service recognizes dedicated and sustained service to SMPTE, particularly at the Section level, will be awarded to Richard Perin (Atlanta Section), Michael Strein (New York Section), and Peter G. Wharton (Washington, D.C. Section).

Excellence in Standards Award recognizes active involvement in standards activities and processes, will be awarded to Thomas A. Scott, for a wide range of activities that have been critical to the continued proliferation of SMPTE standards and materials.

Outstanding Student Paper Award recognizes a paper prepared and submitted by a SMPTE student member, will be awarded to Justin Kovar, for "Challenges in the Migration of Analog Closed Captioning."

SMPTE Fellow Award recognizes individuals who, by proficiency and contributions, have attained an outstanding rank among engineers or executives in the motion-picture, television, or related industries, and will be awarded to:

Jay C. Adrick
Al Barton
William Elswick
Robert Gilmartin
Michel Golitzinsky
Paul J. Hearty
Bill Hogan
Bob Lambert
Harry Mathias
Kohji Mitani
Nestor M. Rodriguez
Clyde McKinney

About the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers

The OscarÆ Award-winning and EmmyÆ Award-winning Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) is the leading technical society for the motion imaging industry. As an internationally recognized and accredited standards-setting body, SMPTE develops standards, recommended practices and guidelines, and spearheads educational activities to advance engineering and moving imagery. Underscoring SMPTE's leadership in technology and standards development, the Society received a prestigious technical EmmyÆ Award in 2009 for its work in the development of the MXF and GXF file formats. Headquartered in New York, SMPTE is comprised of engineers and other technical specialists, IT, and new media professionals, filmmakers, manufacturers, educators, and consultants in more than 65 countries.