SMPTE To Honor Technical Innovators & Pioneers At Annual Conference


Honoree Work Spans Computer Graphic, Production, Standards Development & Education

Hollywood - 26 October 2011– The Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers (SMPTE), the worldwide leader in motion-imaging standards and education for the communications, media, and entertainment industries, will celebrate 19 industry innovators and pioneers, including five new SMPTE Fellows, to cap a week of activities at its 2011 Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition. The SMPTE Honors & Awards Banquet will take place tomorrow evening, 27 October, at the Hollywood Renaissance Hotel & Conference Center.

“SMPTE is pleased to honor these award winners for their many technological achievements,” said Barbara Lange, Executive Director of SMPTE. “From advances in computer graphics to innovations in production and sound to standards development and education, they have helped to improve the way people consume and enjoy content, whether on the big or small screen.”

Lange, SMPTE President Pete Ludé, and SMPTE Executive Vice President Wendy Aylsworth will be joined by Master of Ceremonies Robb Weller, Partner/Executive Producer at one of the television industry’s most prolific and successful production companies, Weller/Grossman Productions, in recognizing the award winners.

2011 Award Recipients and Fellows

SMPTE will recognize 19 recipients with a variety of awards, including the:

  • SMPTE Progress Medal, which recognizes outstanding technical contributions that result in a significant advance in motion-picture, television, or motion-imaging technology, and will be awarded to Dr. Edwin Catmull, President and co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios and President of Walt Disney Animation Studios, for his lifelong pioneering contributions and visionary leadership in the field of computer-generated imagery for the motion-picture industry.
  • John Grierson International Gold Medal, sponsored by the National Film Board of Canada, which recognizes significant technical achievements in documentary film, and will be awarded to Graeme Ferguson and Roman Kroitor, founders of IMAX, for their innovation, foresight, and contributions to the art of documentary film making.
  • Technicolor/Herbert T. Kalmus Medal, sponsored by Technicolor, which recognizes outstanding contributions that reflect a commitment to the highest standards of quality and innovation in motion-picture post-production and distribution services, and will be awarded to Joshua Pines for his many years of work developing improvements to film scanning and recording technology at Industrial Light and Magic and Technicolor, and for his dedication to achieving the highest possible image quality while overseeing the color science and image processing on numerous new feature films and film restoration projects.
  • Samuel L. Warner Memorial Medal, sponsored by Warner Bros., which recognizes outstanding contributions in design and development for motion-picture sound and will be awarded to Max Bell of Bell Theatre Services for his long career seeking excellence in cinema audio.
  • David Sarnoff Medal, sponsored by the Sarnoff Corp., which recognizes outstanding new techniques or equipment that have contributed to the improvement of the engineering phases of television technology, including large venue presentations, and will be awarded to Bruce Devlin, CTO of AmberFin, for his leadership of and contributions to the development and adoption of SMPTE MXF standards.
  • Kodak Educational Award, sponsored by Eastman Kodak Co., which recognizes outstanding contributions in new or unique educational programs utilizing the technologies of film and advancing the educational process through innovative and inspirational methods, and will be awarded to Linda J. Brown for her commitment to teaching the art and science of cinematography to aspiring filmmakers of all backgrounds.
  • 2011 SMPTE Presidential Proclamation, which recognizes individuals of established and outstanding status and reputation in the motion-picture, television, and motion-imaging industries worldwide, and will be awarded to Douglas Trumbull for more than 45 years of pioneering work in visual effects photography and groundbreaking innovation in motion-picture technologies.
  • SMPTE Journal Award, which recognizes the most outstanding paper originally published in the SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal during the preceding calendar year, and will be awarded to Regunathan Radhakrishnan and Kent B. Terry for their article, "Detection and Correction of Lip-Sync Errors Using Audio and Video Fingerprints" published in the April 2010 issue.
  • SMPTE Journal Certificate of Merit, which recognizes meritorious articles in the SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal, and will be awarded to Sean McCarthy for the article, "A Biological Framework for Perceptual Video Processing and Compression" published in the November/December 2010 issue; and to David Wood for the article, "Understanding Stereoscopic Television and Its Challenges" published in the October 2010 issue.
  • Citation for Outstanding Service to the Society, which recognizes dedicated and sustained service to SMPTE, and will be awarded to David Horowitz for his decade-long service to the SMPTE Philadelphia Section.
  • 2011 Excellence in Standards Award, which recognizes active involvement in advancing Society standards activities and processes, and will be awarded to Michael A. Dolan for his continuous and proactive commitment to the development and improvement of SMPTE’s practices, history, and engineering standards.
  • Louis Wolf Memorial Scholarship, which is designed to help students further their undergraduate or graduate studies in motion pictures and television with an emphasis on technology, and will be awarded to Alexander Michael Pagliaro, a senior at Rochester Institute of Technology, who is completing a Bachelors of Science in Motion Picture Science.

Additionally, the Society will honor these individuals who, by proficiency and contributions, have attained an outstanding rank among engineers or executives in the motion-picture, television, or related industries with the Society’s SMPTE Fellow Membership award:

  • Todd Brunhoff, Senior Staff Software Engineer, Harmonic Inc.
  • Dr. Edwin Catmull, President and co-founder, Pixar Animation Studios and President, Walt Disney Animation Studios
  • Gary Demos, CEO and Founder, Image Essence LLC.
  • Michael Karagosian, Founder and President, MKPE Consulting LLC.
  • Paul Michael Stechly, President, Applied Electronics

Follow SMPTE on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and LinkedIn.

Learn more at