SMPTE Provides Details About 2012 Award Winners at October Event Honoring Technology Leaders, Innovators and Visionaries


Society Taps Emmy® Award-Winning Producer and Television Personality Robb Weller to Host Evening

White Plains, NY, 16 October 2012 – The Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers (SMPTE), the worldwide leader in motion-imaging standards and education for the media, entertainment, communications, and technology industries, today provided a detailed roster of the outstanding technology leaders, innovators and industry visionaries who will receive the Society’s 2012 Honors and Awards. 

Emmy® Award-winning television personality, Robb Weller, will host the industry- and technology-leader-studded award ceremony, which takes place 25 October at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Hollywood, Calif.

“During this very special evening, we have the honor of celebrating those who have excelled in the motion imaging industry and their remarkable contributions,” said Barbara Lange, executive director, SMPTE.  “We are very thankful to the SMPTE members who participated in the selection of these remarkable individuals, to IMAX, who is the sponsor for the SMPTE 2012 Honors and Awards event, and to Panasonic and GQC for providing equipment and service support.”

The following individuals have been selected to receive SMPTE 2012 Honors and Awards:

  • SMPTE Honor Roll. Honorary Membership was conferred on Charles E. Anderson in recognition of his many decades of pioneering engineering work in the television industry, including his key contributions to the invention of the first practical broadcast grade videotape recorder. 
  • SMPTE Progress Medal. Recognizing outstanding technical contributions to the progress of engineering phases of the motion picture, television, or motion imaging industries, this year’s award will be given to David Wood, who recently retired as deputy director, European Broadcasting Union (EBU).
  • Technicolor - Herbert T. Kalmus Medal. Sponsored by Technicolor, and recognizing outstanding contributions that reflect a commitment to the highest standards of quality and innovation in motion picture post-production and distribution services, this year’s award will be given to Thomas O. Maier, retired from the Eastman Kodak Company.
  • Samuel L. Warner Memorial Medal. Sponsored by Warner Bros. and recognizing outstanding contributions in the design and development of new and improved methods and/or apparatus for motion picture sound, this year’s medal will be presented to Robert Douglas Greenfield, of Dolby Laboratories, Inc. 
  • David Sarnoff Medal. Sponsored by SRI International Sarnoff and recognizing outstanding contributions in the development of new techniques or equipment, which have contributed to the improvement of the engineering phases of television technology, including large-venue presentations, this year’s award will be given to James M. DeFilippis.
  • Kodak Educational Award. Sponsored by Eastman Kodak Co. and recognizing outstanding contributions in new or unique educational programs utilizing the technologies of film in motion picture, television, high-speed and instrumentation photography, or other photographic sciences, this this year’s award will be given to William McDonald of the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television.

SMPTE announced the winners of four new medal awards that recognize current technology applications that are prevalent in today’s digital media ecosystem.

  • SMPTE Workflow Systems Medal. Recognizing outstanding contributions related to the development and integration of information-technology file-based systems and infrastructures into production processes, this year’s medal will be presented to Brad Gilmer, executive director of the Advanced Media Workflow Association (AMWA).
  • SMPTE Digital Processing Medal. Recognizing significant technical achievements related to the development of digital processing of content for motion picture, television, games, or other related media, this year’s medal will be presented to Gary Demos of Image Essence LLC.
  • SMPTE Camera Origination and Imaging Medal. Recognizing significant technical achievements related to invention or advances in imaging technology, including sensors, imaging processing electronics and the overall embodiment and application of image capture devices, this year’s medal will be presented to Bryce E. Bayer, retired from Eastman Kodak.
  • SMPTE Archival Technology Medal. Recognizing significant technical advancements or contributions related to the invention or development of technology, techniques, workflows, or infrastructure for the long-term storage, archive, or preservation of media content essence, this year’s medal will be presented to the U.S. Library of Congress, Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation.

SMPTE announced the winners of awards that recognize contributions to its Motion Imaging Journal, service to the Society, excellence in standards, and academic efforts – as well as its naming of SMPTE Fellows.

  • SMPTE Journal Award and SMPTE Journal Certificates of Merit. Recognizing the most outstanding paper originally published in the Journal of the Society during the preceding calendar year, this’s award will being presented to Pascal Carrières, Sara J. Kudrle, Marco Lopez and Michel Proulx, all of Miranda Technologies. Certificates of merit will be awarded to Dan Eakins and Mihailo Stojancic and to Carlos Vázquez and Wa James Tam.
  • Citation for Outstanding Service to the Society. Recognizing individuals for dedicated service to the Society over a sustained period of time, citations will be awarded to Paul R. Beck of Emerson College, Michael Day of Network Ten Australia, Ward Hansford of Ericsson Television Limited, Franco Visintin, retired from the RAI - Radio Televisione Italiana, and Terence Wong of Hong Kong Design Institute.
  • Excellence in Standards Award. Recognizing individuals or companies who have been actively involved in advancing SMPTE standards activities and processes, this year’s award will be presented to Bob Edge.
  • Louis F. Wolf Memorial Scholarship. Designed to help students further their undergraduate or graduate studies in motion pictures and television with an emphasis on technology, this year’s scholarship will be awarded to Natalie Morningstar. 
  • SMPTE 2012 Fellows. Recognizing those who, by proficiency and contributions, have attained an outstanding rank among engineers or executives in the motion-picture, television, or related industries, the following individuals will be recognized as SMPTE Fellows: Jay H. Ballard, ESPN; Wayne E. Bretl, Zenith Electronics, LLC; John E. Ferder, CBS; John Hudson, Semtech Corp; and Xueming Henry Gu, Green International Consulting.

Award citations available in the news and events section of the SMPTE Web site (