Region Governor and UK Section Officers

UK governors

 Mark Harrison 2018-2020 DPP

Mark spent many years as a Director, Producer and Executive Producer. He has won numerous awards including from the RTS and BFI, as well as gaining an International Emmy and BAFTA nomination. He has held senior roles within the independent sector and the BBC, including as Managing Director of Soul Purpose Productions, and BBC Head of Arts. He became Controller of Production for BBC North in 2010, and later Director of Transformation in the BBC’s Design and Engineering group. Mark has been Managing Director of the DPP since it became a not-for-profit company in 2015, and left the BBC early in 2017 to devote more time to leading the DPP. Mark is also Vice-Chair of an NHS Foundation Trust, and Chair of a commercial subsidiary of the Trust.

 Marina Kalkanis 2019-2021 M2A Media

Marina is a Senior Technology Executive with broad technology leadership experience and extensive background in digital media. She is the CEO of a new London based startup M2A Media Ltd creating cloud based media solutions. Previously Marina delivered digital file based playout workflows for the BBC and Video Factory, the BBC iPlayer media production service. all built on public cloud infrastructure. Prior to that Marina delivered the award winning BBC London 2012 Olympics online media services.


The officers of the UK Section are:

Simon Gauntlett UK Section Chair -  Director of Imaging Technology, Dolby

Simon Gauntlett is Director of Imaging Standards and Technology at Dolby based in Soho Square focusing on HDR and immersive technologies. Simon was previously the CTO for the Digital TV Group in the UK for a decade, setting the technology strategy and roadmap for the UK Television Industry Association.  Simon also worked for the BBC Research and Development department on projects including the introduction of High Definition and Digital Radio Cameras. Simon is a fellow of the IET and an honorary fellow of the BKSTS.

Past Chair Chris Johns, Chief Engineer, Sky

Chris Johns has been with Sky/BSkyB since its inception in 1989 having started his career in broadcast with the BBC.
As Chief Engineer, Chris has been at the forefront of delivering broadcast functionality to the platform such as the Multi channel Digital Play - out facilities, Dolby Digital audio, Server based solutions, HD &3D.

Chris is now helping Sky enhance the entertainment delivered across a multitude of different platforms from a common core whilst maintaining the audio and visual quality the customer has come to expect from today’s technologies.

Chris was appointed a Fellow of SMPTE in 2013 recognising his outstanding work in the development of Television platforms and Innovative technology in the UK. He served as the first chair of the UK section From 2012-2016

Sec/Treas  Andrew Johnston MD EMEA for Rightsline Software Inc

Andrew has experienced the rapid evolution of the professional media industry as a playout services provider and IPTV channel operator,  and has supplied equipment, software  and services to broadcasters and post production organisations worldwide. Working in the area of content rights acquisitions and distribution provides a perspective on the changing dynamics and  finances that underpin the whole industry


Following the 2018 elections we welcome the following members to the Board of Managers (2018-2020)

Paul Gardiner, Sony Europe Ltd.
Andy Rayner, Nevion
Phil Tudor, BBC

Following the 2017 elections we welcome the following members to the Board of Managers (2017-2019)

Andy Lucas Universal Pictures
Richard Mills  Imaginary Pictures/Sky VR
Andy Wilson Dropbox


Andy Lucas

Andy Lucas is Vice President Global Distribution Technology, Universal Pictures International. 

Richard Mills

Richard Mills is CEO of Imaginary Pictures, has over 35 years’ experience of operations,
management and development in both Film and Broadcasting industries.
He has expertise in Studio operations and management, Post Production and Transmission (MOLINARE),
Board-level technical leadership, design and management in facilities and Outside Broadcast (Onsight and VISIONS).

For the past ten years he has provided award-winning imaging and workflow solutions to film, documentary and drama.

Richard now provides production solutions and consultancy in complex imaging, 360 and Virtual Reality.
He also serves as Technical Director, Sky VR Studios.

Richard is a strong believer in education and training. He has worked extensively with industry bodies including BSC,
BKSTS, UK Screen and many Universities to educate and encourage new talent, both technical and creative.


Andy Wilson

Andy is Head of Business Development, Digital Production Partnership and leads the growth
of the Digital Production Partnership’s membership, activities and work streams.
The DPP brings together colleagues from all parts of the media supply chain to gather insights, shape and deliver change. 

Andy has worked in broadcasting for over 17 years on web, red button interactive television services,
broadcast innovation and digital rights. Andy was Head of the BBC College of Technology,
overseeing all training and development for technology for the BBC.
He recently led the industry skills and development of file delivery for television programmes with the DPP.
Andy’s work also included the migration of Engineering Teams to support new technologies and studios in MediaCity UK,
New Broadcasting House, UHD and 3D broadcasts and supporting the 2012 London Olympics.

Andy joined the DPP from his role as Partnership Lead for BBC Make it Digital. A year-long broadcast campaign
to help develop the coding and digital skills of audiences across the UK.  Andy led collaboration between 54 partners,
and delivered one of the BBC's most ambitious education initiatives in 30 years - the BBC micro:bit. 


Chairman Meetings

Bruce Kruger from Sky has been appointed  to lead the Group which plans the meetings,  and being the point of reference as individuals organise and run meetings In London and in the clusters across the UK .

Bruce Kruger is a veteran professional Engineer who has spent a life time working in Commercial Broadcasting. He is currently Head of Broadcast Engineering for Sky U.K. and is responsible for managing the engineering design and support teams associated with television content and associated DTH platforms.

Prior to joining Sky U.K. he spent almost 3 years at TVB in Hong Kong as Engineering Controller responsible for the introduction of HD services and DTTB.

Bruce commenced his professional career in Australia as a trainee radio and television broadcast engineer and has held senior engineering and management positions in Nine Network Australia and subsidiary companies.

.His commitment is to support all the pillars of the society and is active in the education of young engineers and supportive of the development of standards for the industry as a whole.

Organiser Bill Lovell Memorial lecture

Andy Quested  BBC

Andy Quested started working as a Technical Assistant at the BBC in 1978. from 1983 to 2000 Andy worked as an VT editor across the whole range of BBC output but is possibly best known as the editor of Keeping Up Appearances! 
Since 2005, Andy has been leading the BBC’s high definition technology strategy as Head of Technology for HD (and now 3D)
Andy was appointed a Fellow of SMPTE in 2014  recognising his outstanding work in the development of HD and UHD techniques and his work in DPP, EBU and ITU on this and Quality Checking.


Future managers

At its meetings in April 2012 the Board of Managers  agreed that Board members should serve a maximum of two 2 year terms  
so promoting a good flow of new blood to the Board,
and guidance  on the chairman term ( 2 or 3 years)  and Hon Sec (typically about 5 years)

There is an outline of what  is required of a Managers of the UK Section