SMPTE 2017 Election Results



The 2017 Elections for Officers and Governors of the Society concluded on Monday, 25 September.  Thanks to all the SMPTE Members who participated as candidates and voters, helping to shape the leadership of our Society.

The election results are below.  All positions carry two-year terms, beginning 1 January 2018 and ending 31 December 2019.

Thank you to Broadcast Beat for producing the candidate election interviews!


Standards Vice-President
Two-Year Term, 2018-2019

Bruce Devlin
Founder & CEO
Mr MXF Ltd.

Finance Vice-President
Two-Year Term, 2018-2019

Hans Hoffmann
Senior Manager, Media Production Technology
European Broadcasting Union (EBU)

Membership Vice-President
Two-Year Term, 2018-2019

Peter Wharton
VP, Technology
BroadStream Solutions

Asia-Pacific Region Governor

Ward Hansford
General Manager Oceania
Grass Valley

Canadian Region Governor

Paul E. Briscoe
Principal Consultant
Televisionary Consulting

Eastern Region Governor

Renard T. Jenkins
Vice President, Media, Production & Distribution Operations
PBS – Public Broadcasting Service

Europe, Africa, Middle East, Central and South America Region Governor

Siegfried Fössel
Head of Department Moving Picture Technologies
Fraunhofer IIS

Hollywood Region Governor

Paul R. Chapman
Sr. VP Technology
FotoKem Industries Inc

New York Region Governor

Sara Kudrle
Product Marketing
Imagine Communications

Southern Region Governor

Rick Ackermans
Principal Engineer
MVA Broadcast Consulting

Western Region Governor

Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist

SMPTE Activities:

  • Frequent attendee of SMPTE conferences and events.
  • Work closely with SMPTE members on implementation of SMPTE Standards.
  • Led the first consumer implementation of SMPTE 2084 and 2086, with Amazon's HDR program.

United Kingdom Region Governor

Mark Harrison
Managing Director
Digital Production Partnership (DPP)


All members* who cast their vote were entered into a raffle and below are the winners! Congratulations and thanks for your participation!

  • Grand Prize: Complimentary registration for the 2017 Annual Technical Conference OR One complimentary year of membership dues
    • Chekalin Dmitry, EMEA, Central and South America Region
  • Second Prize:  Complimentary copy of the SMPTE Centennial book, Magic and Miracles - 100 Years of Moving Image Science and Technology
    • Jim Morrison, Canadian Region
  • Third Prize:  $50 gift certificate to the SMPTE Store
    • Michael Smith, Hollywood Region
    • Richard Burden, Hollywood Region
    • Leigh Whitcomb, Canadian Region
  • Runner-Up Prize:  $25 gift certificate to the SMPTE Store
    • Ted Szypulski, New York Region
    • Nicholas Browse, Eastern Region
    • Christopher Adams, Eastern Region
    • Ted Baker, Hollywood Region
    • Johnathon Dupras, Canadian Region

*Election Candidates and Current SMPTE Officers are not eligible.