Standards Webcast

The ST 2094 Standards Suite For Dynamic Metadata

Thursday, 12 January 2017

1:00 PM EST /10:00 AM PST / 18:00 UTC / 18:00 GMT

The recently published SMPTE ST 2094 suite of documents defines metadata for use in color volume transforms of content. The metadata are intended for transforming high dynamic range (HDR) and wide color gamut (WCG) image essence for presentation on a display having a smaller color volume than that of the mastering display. The metadata are content-dependent and can vary scene by scene or image by image.

This webcast covers motivations for developing this standard, an overview of its various parts, some examples, and an outline of workflows using the standard.

Register Now!

Standards Webcasts are FREE and OPEN TO ALL!

Guest Speaker

Lars Borg is a principal scientist in digital video and audio engineering at Adobe. Borg, who joined Adobe in 1989, develops solutions and standards in the areas of high dynamic range, wide color gamut, ultra-high-definition TV, digital cinema, digital imaging, color processing, color management, video compression, and metadata; and he holds over 30 patents in related areas. Borg was a key contributor developing the Academy Color Encoding System. He created the CinemaDNG format. Borg is active in SMPTE standards committees and is the Chair of a SMPTE group on Dynamic Metadata for Color Transforms. Borg holds a M.Sc. in electrical engineering from the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden.