Standards Update Webcast

A Perceptual EOTF for Extended Dynamic Range Imagery

Tuesday, 6 May 2014

17:00 UTC /10:00 AM Pacific/1:00 PM Eastern)

With technological improvements in both capture and display technology, we are now in a position to utilize a much higher dynamic range in digital imaging than in the past. However, the challenge of traditional infrastructure limitations and the desire for efficient packaging prevent utilization of large bit depths everywhere. This SMPTE Educational Webcast explores how the Electro-Optical Transfer Function (EOTF) really defines an electronic imaging signal and what that means for the use of higher dynamic range content. In addition, the development of a signal definition based on the human visual system model promises to optimize its perceptual efficiency. 

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Guest Speaker:  Scott Miller, Dolby Laboratories, Inc.

Scott Miller is a senior member of the research staff at Dolby Laboratories where he serves in the Image Technology Research group. He studied electrical engineering at Cornell University and has spent 30 years working in the video industry. He started in post production and systems design before joining Panasonic Research where he turned his attention to hardware and algorithm design for several broadcast and consumer devices. He moved to Dolby in 2005 where he continues to specialize in image display technology and video signal processing. Along the way he has had the privilege of helping to develop two Emmy award-winning products: Panasonic’s Universal Video Format Converter and Dolby’s Professional Reference Monitor.



SMPTE Standards Update Webcasts are offered quarterly, FREE of charge!

If you are not already a SMPTE member, considering joining today at