Standards Update Webcast

Networked Media and the Joint Task Force

Tuesday, 4 March 2014

18:00 UTC /10:00 AM Pacific/1:00 PM Eastern
In the broad, fast-paced, ever-changing landscape of networked media, several interested organizations realized the need to collaborate to better understand the "bigger picture." As a result, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), SMPTE, and the Video Services Forum (VSF) formed the Joint Task Force on Professional Networked Streamed Media (JT-NM). Please join Felix Poulin, EBU's senior engineer and project manager of media production technologies, as he defines networked media and its potential for opportunity, explains why the Task Force was needed to encourage interoperability, and outlines the next steps. Mr. Poulin will also present highlights from the recently published JT-NM Gap Analysis Report. Please don't miss this important SMPTE Standards Update webcast.
Félix Poulin is a senior engineer in the EBU Technology & Innovation in Switzerland. He has a leading role in EBU and International projects on Networked Live Production, Service Level Agreement for Broadcasters and Media Storage Systems.
Before working at the EBU, Felix was at national public broadcaster CBC/Radio-Canada in the New Broadcast Technology group. He worked also as live audio engineer and wireless and digital system designer for many national and international show productions including Cirque du Soleil. Felix held his diploma in Electrical Engineering from École Polytechnique de Montréal with a year internship at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Felix is a member of SMPTE.
SMPTE Standards Update Webcasts are offered quarterly, FREE of charge!
If you are not already a SMPTE member, join today at