Standards Webcast - Free and open to all

SMPTE ST 2110 – Professional Media over IP Networks

Thursday, 22 June 2017

1:00 PM EST /10:00 AM PST / 17:00 UTC / 18:00 BST

The SMPTE Standards Community has been working diligently to complete and publish the SMPTE ST 2110 suite of standards. These standards allow for separate routing of video, audio, and ANC data flows over professional IP networks in real-time to support production and playout applications. This standard has been widely anticipated in the industry, and visitors to the 2017 NAB Show had the opportunity to experience the IP Showcase, which provided a unified industry-wide view dedicated to educating and energizing visitors to help build a better, more flexible, more efficient, and more creative broadcasting industry.

This webcast will cover the basics of the SMPTE ST 2110 suite of standards; how video, audio, and data signals are switched and routed; and the timing model that allows users to keep all the parts correctly time-aligned.

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webcast.

Register Now!

Guest Speaker

Alan Lambshead

John Mailhot has been working in the field of digital High-Definition Television systems since its North American inception in 1990, first as part of the AT&T-Zenith Team, then as technical lead for the Grand Alliance encoder, and later as engineering manager and general manager of Lucent Digital Video, Aastra Digital Video, and Harris Broadcast. Today John is responsible for Infrastructure Product Architecture at Imagine Communications, focused on transition of core Television infrastructure into IP and software-based technologies. He has two degrees from MIT, and is a SMPTE Fellow.