Get Started


    The Detroit Section of SMPTE is made up of professionals, students and others interested in the technology of motion imaging. The Section holds monthly meetings with a technical topic. Non-members are always welcome and there is usually no admission cost.

    For more information visit

    June 2020 Virtual Section Meeting

    Event Type(s): Section Meeting
    Event Date(s): 18 Jun 2020
    This month’s Detroit Section meeting will be held online via Zoom, courtesy of SBE Chapter 91. The presentation will focus on lithium-ion batteries for UPS applications and their advantages over traditional VRLA batteries. We’ll discuss lithium battery solutions offered by Eaton, detailing cabinet designs, safety, intrinsic battery management for additional protection, and Eaton’s service/maintenance capabilities. In addition to the lithium discussion, comments on Eaton’s range of UPS solutions, as well as some other relevant product lines, will be included.
    Read More

    Past Events