Board of Governors Represent Leaders in the Industry

The SMPTE Board of Governors is made up of Board Officers, Regional Governors, and Directors of specific areas including Standards, Education, and Membership. Elections are held annually with a rotating term set per member.

Press Release: SMPTE Membership Elects Officers and Governors for 2017-2018; Matthew Goldman to Serve as New President

2016 Board Officers

President, 2015-2016
Robert P. Seidel
CBS Television Network




Past President,  2015-2016
Wendy Aylsworth
Warner Bros. (retired)




Executive Vice President, 2015-2016
Matthew Goldman



Standards Vice President, 2016-2017
Alan Lambshead
Evertz (retired)




Education Vice President, 2015-2016
Patrick Griffis
Dolby Laboratories




Finance Vice President, 2016-2017
Paul Michael Stechly
Applied Electronics Ltd.



Membership Vice President, 2016-2017
William C. Miller
Miltag Media Technology, LLC



Secretary/Treasurer, 2015-2016
Peter Wharton
BroadStream Solutions, Inc.




2016 Board Governors

Governors At Large, 2016

Fetner_0.jpgChristopher Fetner
Netflix, Inc.





Hollywood Silverman_0.jpgLeon Silverman
The Walt Disney Studios





Canadian Region, 2016-2017
Randy Conrod
Imagine Communications




Canadian Region, 2015-2016
Pierre Marion
CBC - Radio-Canada


Central Region, 2015-2016
William T. Hayes
Iowa Public Television




Eastern Region, 2015-2016
John McCoskey
Eagle Hill Consulting



Eastern Region, 2016-2017
John Luff
HD Consulting




Keighley.jpgHollywood Region, 2016-2017
Patricia Keighley
IMAX Corporation




Hollywood Region, 2015-2016
Stephen M. Beres




Hollywood Region, 2015-2016
Andrew Setos
BLACKSTAR Engineering Inc.



New York Region, 2016-2017
John Ferder
CBS, Inc.




New York Region, 2015-2016
Douglas I. Sheer
DIS Consulting Corp.




Southern Region, 2016-2017
Dan Burnett
Ericsson Television, Inc.



Southern Region, 2015-2016
Merrick Ackermans
MVA Media Consulting



Western Region, 2015-2016
Sara J. Kudrle
Grass Valley, a Belden Brand




Western Region, 2016-2017
Mark Narveson
Artegis Law Group, LLP




Asia / Pacific Region, 2015-2016
KL Lam
Hong Kong Cable TV Ltd. (retired)




Asia / Pacific Region, 2016-2017
John Maizels
Entropy Enterprises and Productions




Europe, The Middle East, Africa and Central & South America Region, 2016-2017
Siegfried Foessel
Fraunhofer IIS




Europe, The Middle East, Africa and Central & South America Region, 2015-2016
Angelo D'Alessio
Cine Design Group



UK Region Governor, 2016-2017
Bruce Devlin
Mr MXF Ltd.



2016 Directors

Standards Directors

Bob Edge
Bob Edge TV Consulting





Dave Schnuelle
Dolby Laboratories, Inc.





Paul Treleaven



Education Directors

V. Michael Bove
MIT Media Laboratory





Michael DeValue
Walt Disney Studios




Al Kovalick
Media Systems Consulting





Peter Putman
ROAM Consulting L.L.C.




Membership Directors

Karl Kuhn
Tektronix Inc.





Peter Weitzel


Student Chapter Director

Bruce Follmer
ABC Television


History of SMPTE Presidents

List of past SMPTE Presidents