SMPTE sponsors Student Chapters at colleges, universities, and institutions where courses are offered in technical areas of film, video and television. Student Chapters provide students with the opportunity to meet industry leaders and professionals, and to interact outside of the classroom with other students and faculty who have an interest in the motion imaging industry. The current Student chapters and their advisors are listed below.  If you wish your Student Chapter to have its own web page, please contact


Student Chapter Websites

Millersville University


Student Chapters

Baylor University

Corey P. Carbonara
Communication Studies
PO Box 97368
Waco, TX 76798-7368
+1 254 710 1511

Borough of Manhattan Community College

John Gallagher

Bronx Community College

         Professor Jeffrey Wisotsky     
         Meister Hall, Room C02
         2155 University Avenue., Bronx, NY  10453  
         +1 718 289 5572

Charles Sturt University

Boorooma Street
Wagga Wagga, NSW 2678, AU

Full Sail University

Dino J. Gallina
Winterpark, FL

Fitchburg State University

Kevin McCarthy
160 Pearl St.
Fitchburg, MA  01420-2697
+1 978 665 3264


George Mason University

Dr. Bernd-Peter Paris
4400 University Drive
Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Hong Kong Design Institute (HKDI)

Szeto King Fung, Nelson
Department of Communication Design and Digital Media
Hong Kong Design Institute
3 King Ling Road
Tseung Kwan O
New Territories
Hong Kong
Phone: + 852 39282700

Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (IVE)

Leung Wai Kei
Department of Electronic and Information Engineering
Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (Sha Tin)
21 Yuen Wo Road
Sha Tin
New Territories
Hong Kong
Phone: +852 22567559

Kingsborough Community College

John Acosta
Associate Professor
Kingsborough Community College
Communications and Performing Arts E-309
2001 Oriental Boulevard
Brooklyn, New York 11235
Office E-329 | Tel +1 718 368 5205 | Fax +1 718 368 4879

Los Angeles City College

Joni Varner
855 North Vermont Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90029
+1 323 953 4000

Loyola University Maryland

Herbert Jay Dunmore
4501 N. Charles St.
Department of Communication
Baltimore, MD 21210



Media Arts Collaborative Charter School

          Ryan Salway
          4401 Central Ave. NE, Bldg. #2
          Albuquerque, NM  87108


Millersville University

         Mark Mullen
         Facilities Engineer/Technical Director


Montgomery College

Joanne Carl
Professor; Department: Media Arts Technologies
Montgomery College Rockville Campus
51 Mannakee Street
Technical Center (TC)
Rockville, Maryland 20850

New York City College of Technology

          Ryoya Terao, Assistant Professor
          Dept. of Entertainment Technology
          186 Jay Street, V-205
          Brooklyn, NY 11201
          Phone: +1 718 260 5588

Pasadena City College

Barbara Naylor
Communication and Performing Arts Division
1570 East Colorado Blvd.
Pasadena, CA 91107
+1 626 585 7533

Purdue University

Bobby Chastain
+1 765 494 4248


         Martyn Gates
         Course Leader


Rochester Institute of Technology

David L. Long
College of Imaging Arts & Sciences
School of Film and Animation
Frank E. Gannett Bldg.
70 Lomb Memorial Dr.
Rochester, NY 14623-5604
+ 1 585 475 2779

Rowan University

          Carl Frandino
          College Engineer
          Bozorth Hall
          201 Mullica Hill Road
          Glassboro, NJ 08028

Southampton Solent University 

        Peter Richardson
        Technical Instructor (Media  Technology) | Specialist Facilities
        Southampton Solent University 
        East Park Terrace 
        Southampton SO14 0YN, UK
        T: +44 (0) 23 8201 6486 

  Stevens Institute of Technology

         Robert Harari
         Industry Associate Professor
         Technical Director, Music & Technology Program
         College of Arts & Letters
         Stevens Institute of Technology
         +1 201 216 8928

Stonehill College

Michael J. Pietrowski
Stonehill College
320 Washington St., #S-07
Easton, MA 02357-4018
+1 508 565 1082

Sydney Student Chapter

JMC Academy
Sydney Institute

David Bell, JMC Academy
John Maizels, Sydney Institute

University Southern of California

Ken Dozier

University of Salford – UK

Laurence Murphy


University of Surrey - UK

Alan Haigh

William Paterson University

Dr. Matt Crick