Kodak Educational Award Recipients

Edward J. Giorgianni

For his contributions to color management and workflow innovation in motion picture through the digital intermediate and digital cinema eras.  Giorgianni has been instrumental in defining the basic conventions by which film integrates into digital workflows through Cineon color encoding specifications.  He has further been a principal architect of the Academy Color Encoding System permitting more seamless interchange of film, video and CG imagery for modern content delivery.  Giorgianni’s commitment to open dissemination of color and imaging science through his contribution to books, including his own co-authored with Thomas E. Madden, and to students at Rochester Institute of Technology where he is an adjunct professor fully reflects the spirit of the Kodak Education Award.

Edward J. Giorgianni received his B.Sc. degree (Tau Beta Pi) in Chemical Engineering from the University of Rhode Island in 1967. He then worked for Eastman Kodak Company designing and developing advanced photographic and electronic color-imaging products and systems until his retirement as Senior Research Fellow in 2005. He is currently an independent consultant to several corporations and professional groups and an Adjunct Professor in the Motion Picture Science program at the Rochester Institute of Technology.

A Kodak Distinguished Inventor, he holds more than thirty patents in the fields of color imaging technology and digital color management. He is the principal architect of the color management used on many commercial digital color imaging systems, including the 2012 Emmy Award winning AMPAS ACES system and the 2005 Academy Award winning Kodak Cineon System.

William McDonald

For his dedication to student filmmakers striving to take advantage of the best of film and digital technologies.  During his tenure at UCLA, McDonald has advocated for affordable access to the best production and post-production resources for film students, negotiating services with Technicolor, Deluxe and FotoKem among others.  He was also instrumental in bringing the largest fiber-connected Final Cut Pro platform at the time to UCLA to modernize post-production teaching.   In addition, McDonald has innovated collaborative education with industry professionals through the UCLA Cinematography Residence Program where students learn directly from award winning professional cinematographers from the ASC.

Linda J. Brown

For her commitment to teaching the art and science of cinematography to aspiring filmmakers of all backgrounds. In addition to her laudable work as a Director of Photography, Ms. Brown has committed herself to pushing professional standards in the educational arena at AFI and USC among others, insisting her students understand the technical details behind their media choices. She has also long championed equal opportunities for women and minority filmmakers and has actively engaged the professional community to recognize talent in all of its forms.

Stephen Lighthill, ASC

For his lifetime commitment to sharing his broad experience and knowledge with future filmmakers. Mr. Lighthill is a talented and committed filmmaker whose body of work illuminates important chapters in our history, for today’s audiences and for posterity. He is also a tireless educator who has taught multiple generations about the importance of communication and collaboration in filmmaking.