Get Started

    Honor Roll and Honorary Membership

    Honorary Membership is the Society’s highest accolade. It recognizes individuals who have performed distinguished service in the advancement of engineering in motion pictures, television, or in the allied arts and sciences.

    Honorary Members who have passed away are named to the SMPTE Honor Roll, which also posthumously recognizes individuals who were not awarded Honorary Membership during their lifetimes but whose contributions would have been sufficient to warrant such an honor.

    2019 Inductees:  Paul Kellar and Roderick Snell


    Honorary membership is awarded to Paul Kellar in recognition of being the leading inventor of a wide range of technologies and products in the areas of digital video processing, digital image storage, electronic graphics creation, still image storage and processing, and image manipulation. Kellar was research director of the digital television equipment manufacturer Quantel and has at least 33 patents in his name. Products included the fastest analog-to-digital 15MHz converter of its time, the first frame-based image analysis system, capable of accepting and displaying live video, and multiple generations of standards converters. Kellar has received numerous awards, including the SMPTE Digital Processing Medal, as well as several Technology Emmy Awards and Queen’s Awards for Technology.

    Honorary membership is awarded to Roderick Snell in recognition of his contributions and leadership with more than 40 years as an author, broadcast engineer, and international consultant. Snell co-founded Snell & Wilcox and guided the company in creating innovative products and techniques for image processing. He was instrumental in inventing, developing, and manufacturing a variety of broadcast production, post-production and studio equipment. Snell holds numerous patents for digital signal processing, video transcoding, and motion compensation. Snell received several industry awards for his many contributions to television technology, including the 2002 John Tucker International Award for Excellence from IBC and the 2006 Progress Medal from SMPTE.

    SMPTE Honorary Members

    John L.E. Baldwin (2000)

    Stanley N. Baron (2010)

    James Cameron (2016)

    Leonardo Chiariglione (2014)

    Ian Childs (2010)

    Paul Kellar (2019)

    George Lucas (2014)

    Masahiko Morizono (1994)

    Michael J. Sherlock (1997)

    William H. Smith (1998)

    Roderick Snell (2019)

    Charles A. Steinberg (2018)

    Laurence J. Thorpe (2015)

    Roland J. Zavada (1995)

    The Honor Roll

    Victor H. Allen (1975)

    Charles E. Anderson (2012)

    Thomas Armat (1935)

    John Logie Baird (2014)

    Joseph Arthur Ball (1953)

    Julius Barnathan (1997)

    K. Blair Benson (1991)

    Walter Bruch (1989)

    Marvin C. Camras (1990)

    John C. Capstaff (1955)

    Theodore W. Case (1946)

    George W. Colburn (1987)

    Jeofry Stuart Courtney-Pratt (1974)

    John I. Crabtree (1965)

    Edward B. Craft (1946)

    Andre Debrie (1955)

    Lee de Forest (1940)

    LeRoy E. DeMarsh (1999)

    Herman A. DeVry (1941)

    W. K. L. Dickson (1933)    

    Walt Disney (1955)

    Ray M. Dolby (1992)

    Linwood G. Dunn (1984)

    George Eastman (1928)

    Harold E. Edgerton (1968)

    Thomas Alva Edison (1928)

    Elmer W. Engstron (1966)

    Alexander Ernemann (1956)

    Ralph M. Evans (1973)

    Philo Taylor Farnsworth (1996)

    Joseph A. Flaherty (1993)

    Harvey Fletcher (1959)

    Charles R. Fordyce (1984)

    John G. Frayne (1967)

    William Friese-Greene (1931)

    Leon Gaumont (1946)

    Charles P. Ginsberg (1976)

    Peter C. Goldmark (1977)

    Alfred N. Goldsmith (1961)

    Oscar B. Hanson (2015)

    Wesley T. Hanson, Jr. (1979)    

    Albert S. Howell (1941) 

    Frederick Eugene Ives (1928)

    C. Francis Jenkins (1926)

    Herbert T. Kalmus (1958)

    Edward W. Kellogg (1950)

    Stefan Kudelski (1988)

    Eugene Augustin Lauste (1931)

    Louis A. A. Le Prince (1931)

    Jean Acme LeRoy (1931)

    Nathan Levinson (1953)

    Louis Lumiere (1928)

    Kenneth M. Mason (1981)

    John A. Maurer (1978)

    Renville “Ren” H. McMann Jr.​ (2017)

    C.E. Kenneth Mees (1957)

    Pierre Mertz (1971)

    Oskar Messter (1960)

    George A. Mitchell (1971)

    Albert Narath (1969)

    Robert W. Paul (1937)

    Edwin S. Porter (1941)

    Kerns H. Powers (1995)

    Frederick M. Remley Jr. (1991)

    Frank H. Richardson (1944)

    Robert Richter (1972)

    Rodger J. Ross (1989)

    Loren L. Ryder (1980)

    Max Skladanowsky (1970)

    Robert M. Smith (1996)

    Sidney P. Solow (1981)

    Earl I. Sponable (1957)

    Kenjiro Takayanagi (1988)

    Lloyd Thompson (1962)

    Alexander F. Victor (1964)

    Samuel L. Warner (1946)

    William T. Wintringham (1977)

    Vladimir K. Zworykin (1950)