SMPTE Archival Technology Medal Award Recipients

Milton R. Shefter

In recognition of his long-standing continued leadership contributions to the motion picture & television industry in defining practices for the storage and archive of our industry's film legacy and digital media content.  Co-author and co-editor of "The Digital Dilemma," which articulates our industry’s archival challenges in the digital era, Shefter is one of the industry's earliest and most consistent expert voices on image and sound preservation.  He is a SMPTE Fellow and a Past President of the Association of Moving Image Archivists.

Milt Shefter is President and Principal of Miljoy Ent. Inc., a media preservation consultancy and project management firm. He has worked with the major Hollywood Studios, public and private archives, professional media storage companies and museums. Major projects have included the Paramount Pictures worldwide Asset Protection Program, design of the Library of Congress’ National Audio Visual Conservation Center (NAVCC) and  Kodak’s Pro-Tek Preservation Vaults.

As the co-author, co-editor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS)  white papers titled “The Digital Dilemma” and “The Digital Dilemma 2”, he has lectured around the world on issues of the preservation of analogue and digital moving image and recorded sound, as well as museum artifacts.

At SMPTE, he was Chair of the Hollywood Section, Governor from the Hollywood Region, chaired SMPTE’s Los Angeles conventions and currently remains active on the Lou Wolfe Scholarship committee. He received SMPTE’s Outstanding Service Award and is a Life Fellow.

He is a former President of the Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA), the host and director of the American Society of Cinematographers annual Outstanding Achievement  Awards and was  recognized by that group with its Outstanding Service Award in February of this year. He also serves on the Science and Technology Council of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS)  among other Academy activities. 


Library of Congress, Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation

For their leadership, dedication and commitment to our media cultural heritage through their archive and preservation of the world's largest collection of film, television, radio and sound recordings.