2017: Randy Ubillos

In recognition of his role in establishing the foundation of accessible and affordable digital nonlinear editing software that fundamentally shaped the industry landscape and changed the way visual stories are created and told. Ubillos’ revolutionary work with creating and designing lower-cost editing software such as Final Cut Pro® and Adobe® Premiere® shifted the film and television industry toward a more inclusive future, giving storytellers of diverse backgrounds and experience levels the ability to tell their stories and rise as filmmakers, technicians, engineers, and key players in every facet of media and entertainment. His work significantly enhanced and transformed the world of postproduction, popularizing and commoditizing file-based workflows while removing significant barriers to the creative editing process for millions of users worldwide.



Thomas G. Edwards

In recognition of his fundamental research, implementation, and direction in the advancement of live, broadcast-quality, IT-based workflows, and also his leadership in developing best practices and standards for improving these workflows. As an early advocate of using commercial “off-the-shelf” IT equipment in the broadcast environment, Edwards has actively participated in the Joint Task Force for Networked Media (JT-NM), the Video Services Forum (VSF), the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), and SMPTE, breaking down barriers within internet protocol (IP) to ensure the viability and advancement of IP workflows within broadcast environments. His efforts and direction continue to influence the design of current and future facilities and the workflows within.

Annie Chang
In recognition of her research, implementation and participation in the generation of new compression and file based technology standards, including early DVD authoring and more recently the Interoperable Master Format (IMF). She has shown huge commitment and leadership within the IMF initiative to improve the post-production and mastering pipelines through new file-based workflows and standards efforts.  Her contributions to the standards process have been critical to the development and successful uptake of IMF, which simplifies post-production processes.

Philip Tudor

For his foundational contributions to professional media file formats and for early implementations of file based workflows.  Tudor worked tirelessly in numerous SMPTE committees, and in the Advanced Media Workflow Association, focusing on developing Standards and specifications for file-based essence and metadata interchange.  His pioneering work on tapeless audio and video capture, Material eXchange Format (MXF), and the Advanced Authoring Format (AAF) led to the implementation of workflows at the BBC.  Phil continues file based workflow innovation with the Digital Production Partnership (DPP) and IP Studio, which focuses on file based workflows for live television production within an IP environment.  

John Anthony Footen

In recognition of pioneering the introduction of workflow-improving approaches such as Service Oriented Architecture (SOA) into the media industry, and leadership in both the Standards and Education pillars of the SMPTE mission.  John has been very active in the area of workflow improvement for many years now.  He has been a leader in AMWA and EBU’s FIMS effort, chairs SMPTE’s 34CS technology committee, has been active in workflow-related activities within such as BXF, and is an industry leader in the application of SOA to media.  He has been a regular speaker and moderator at SMPTE conferences, and an author on service oriented architecture.  John is also a leader in the development of IT based systems and infrastructures into the production process.

Brad Gilmer

The 2012 Workflow Systems Medal is awarded to Brad Gilmer, Executive Director of the Advanced Media Workflow Association, Consultant, and prolific writer and speaker for his leadership in file based workflow topics. Gilmer’s early work on file based workflow while at Turner Entertainment became a model for many broadcasters to follow. Mr. Gilmer’s leadership of the AMWA has moved MXF implementation to the forefront of modern facilities, and begun a process that will complete the important work necessary to implement SOA in widespread use through the joint work AMWA has begun with the EBU on FIMS.